blenderNetworkpatreonblender-logosdheartuserthtimesbookphotopencilmap-markerchevron-rightbancommentcommentstwitterfacebookrsschainnavicongoogle-plusenvelopelinkedinmail-replycalendar-otumblrredditstumbleuponshare-altbloggerflattrflag

Game Engine

Game Engine

Postby haanswors » May 11th, 2009, 11:45 pm

hi all, how would i beable to cast shadows on textures in the game engine. i have managed to cast the shadows but it does not cast when i have a uv texture applied. as soon as i delete the texture and just add a meterial coulor then i get the shadow. thanks all
haanswors

Re: game engine

Postby Nismo » May 12th, 2009, 1:57 am

I think you would have to bake them though i'm not sure about how you'd do that. You might also be able to us GLSL but i'm not an expert on that either.

Nismo

(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"Three blind mice walk into a pub. But they are unaware of their surroundings, so to derive humour from it would be exploitative." - Bill Bailey
Nismo
Pro
Pro

Postby IrascibleOne » May 13th, 2009, 8:25 pm

I dunno if anyone here has done textures and shadows and whatnot in the Game Engine. I did it before on a old version of Blender but I haven't been able to do so since. I don't understand why it doesn't work, I tested all the settings like the GLSL and all that but I don't really know. I've never gotten to the point were I absolutely needed textures or anything to look right.

As much as I would like to give you a better answer, this place has a bunch of tutorials for the game engine that goes over that sort of stuff. The only problem is that it doesn't give any explanation for the steps it tells you to take.

http://www.tutorialsforblender3d.com/Game_Engine/Tutorials_index.html
IrascibleOne
Site Admin
Site Admin

Postby Dictator-for-life » May 14th, 2009, 3:48 pm

Hey, sorry for the delayed response, meant to answer you sooner. Hope you are still checking here for an answer!