blenderNetworkpatreonblender-logosdheartuserthtimesbookphotopencilmap-markerchevron-rightbancommentcommentstwitterfacebookrsschainnavicongoogle-plusenvelopelinkedinmail-replycalendar-otumblrredditstumbleuponshare-altbloggerflattrflag

External Rendering

External Rendering

Postby Sazex » March 25th, 2010, 5:11 pm

I would like to use an external rendering system now, as i'm tired of the blender internal render,
so i was looking at all the external renders and there are
Yaf(a)ray
Luxrender
Aqsis

i'm leaning towards either aqsis or yafaray,
i realize yafaray is more of a photorealism one,
before i go any further, i want to know is there any way to get both?
Anyways i would just like to know which one is best according to you guys

oh and if anyone can also tell me how to install them that would also be very helpful :D
Image
User avatar
Sazex
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 262
Joined: February 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby SPARTAN-001 » March 26th, 2010, 2:38 am

You can have all of them installed, but if you're only looking for one, go with Yafaray. It's the fastest one of the three, and the easiest to set up. Luxrender looks great, but only if you have TONS of time on your hands. Go with Yafaray. :thumbup:
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby Sazex » March 27th, 2010, 10:39 am

alright, i'll go with yafray then, now i have it installed how do i use it in blender? :|
Image
User avatar
Sazex
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 262
Joined: February 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby SPARTAN-001 » March 28th, 2010, 4:59 pm

You go make a scripts window, go to scripts>render>yafaray exporter. It should work. You might have to make sure you're using the right versions of blender and/or yafaray or else it's not gonna work, it'll just crash. If it doesn't crash when you try to render, you should be good to go. If you want me to make a tutorial on Yafaray, i'd be happy to, just tell me if you want it.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby Sazex » March 29th, 2010, 9:46 pm

oh yes, a tutorial would really help, for i still don't completely get it :think:
Image
User avatar
Sazex
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 262
Joined: February 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby SPARTAN-001 » March 30th, 2010, 3:43 am

Ok, I'll try to write it up today, probably after school. It'll be a basic tutorial, going over how to install Yafaray, and how to render basic things, including a little bit o' materials. I will try to have it done as soon as possible. I don't have much homework right now, so I should be able to finish it and have it up soon.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby knightsilver » March 30th, 2010, 8:13 am

I could use that tut too, can ya still use your system while Yafaray renders, say if i want to model, Photoshop or Word at the same time?

shane
User avatar
knightsilver
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 113
Joined: June 26th, 2009, 11:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: External Rendering

Postby brektzar » March 30th, 2010, 8:55 am

Knightsilver, you should be able to set yafaray to use one core if you have a dual core CPU or 2 cores if you have a quad core. Which leaves 1 or 2 cores for the rest of your running apps. If you cant do it in yafaray you can set the affinity in task manager.

You dont have to set it to one or two cores, you can use more or less aswell, but keep in mind that with less cores working for your renderer the slower the rendering will get.

Hope that answers your question.
//Jimmy
Sorry for my english, it is not always the best ;)

If there is anything you need feel free to ask! :)

My gallery
My deviantART account
Image
User avatar
brektzar
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: November 26th, 2009, 2:28 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: External Rendering

Postby Sazex » March 30th, 2010, 4:58 pm

ok thank you very much spartan, i also installed python 2.6, i still can't get it thou..
Image
User avatar
Sazex
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 262
Joined: February 21st, 2009, 9:13 pm

Re: External Rendering

Postby SPARTAN-001 » April 1st, 2010, 1:48 am

Sorry, I wasn't able to finish that tutorial yet, lots of other stuff going on. Hopefully it'll be done by this weekend, cuz i'm on spring break after today.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm
Next
Return to Compositing and Rendering

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron