blenderNetworkpatreonblender-logosdheartuserthtimesbookphotopencilmap-markerchevron-rightbancommentcommentstwitterfacebookrsschainnavicongoogle-plusenvelopelinkedinmail-replycalendar-otumblrredditstumbleuponshare-altbloggerflattrflag

Making a Grate / Drain

Making a Grate / Drain

Postby Mobius1ne » January 14th, 2015, 10:27 am

Hi, there! I'm pretty new to Blender so I feel I've barely scratched the surface with what I know. I can import/export simple meshes (without UVs) to Unreal... which probably sounds like nothing to you guys, but is quite a step for me! :oops:

I'm just wondering what would be the best way to make a floor grate. Like a catwalk grate, or drain cover almost. I looked for ages for tutorials but all I could find with the words 'grate' and 'blender' were cooking guides, haha!

Here's something similar to what I'm after:
http://www.mascoteng.com.au/mild_steel_grate_pic.jpg

I found a pretty good tutorial the other day on YouTube (here's a link for anybody interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7s9ikE1RktY), and it showed me a really nice way to make hexagonal grates, which look pretty cool -and I expect to use a few times- but I'm after a more the traditional one too, like the one pictured above. I can sort of see it in my head, but can't put my finger on exactly how to do it. If anybody knows how and could let me know, or forward a tutorial for me that would be splendid. :roll:

Thanks ~ :wave:
Mobius1ne

Re: Making a Grate / Drain

Postby IrascibleOne » January 14th, 2015, 6:10 pm