blenderNetworkpatreonblender-logosdheartuserthtimesbookphotopencilmap-markerchevron-rightbancommentcommentstwitterfacebookrsschainnavicongoogle-plusenvelopelinkedinmail-replycalendar-otumblrredditstumbleuponshare-altbloggerflattrflag

Possible? or not?

Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 5th, 2010, 9:19 am

so a little while ago i read a thread somewhere that was about installing 8 (yes 8) gtx 480's on a sr2 using pcie risers. so i was wondering if it was possible, i know that you will need tweaking, so you would prolbaley need linux. eventually in the thread someone brought up the fastra 2, which has 13 gtx 275 s running inside a full tower computer case, with 2 psu's in it. it has a huge computing power. it has raw petaflops of computing power. so is it possible to have 8 gtx 480's?
heres the link to the fastra 2 website.
http://fastra2.ua.ac.be/

edit, it has 13 gpus not 8
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby SPARTAN-001 » August 5th, 2010, 9:34 am

Theoretically it would be possible, however in practice it would have no benefits for anything except various types of number crunching, and you would likely need to make drivers and software to use it. Another problem would be heat output and power. You would need TONS of power to support that many 480s, and the heat output would be substantial. Oh, and the Fastra II doesn't have 13 GTX 275s, it has 6 GTX 295s and one GTX 275. The GTX 295 is 2 GTX 275 chips on one PCB (two PCBs in some cases) and downclocked slightly.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 5th, 2010, 10:14 am

o, it would take tons of power, but wouldnt it have some benifits for something? becuase if it didnt then what would the benfits of have 4x gtx 480s slied?
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby SPARTAN-001 » August 5th, 2010, 11:30 am

The only benefits would be for CUDA computation. The reason that games get a boost from 4 way SLI is because the drivers made by Nvidia support it. You wouldn't be able to use an arrangement like this for playing games, because drivers wouldn't support it. There would be no way to use this for gaming because it would only use one of the cards to run the game, there wouldn't be any FPS boost for running the game on this versus a single card. The reason they did this was to use the CUDA cores of the cards, which is supported by the drivers. This is not SLI, this is just multiple cards.

Also, you double posted, so I removed the duplicate post. ;)
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 5th, 2010, 1:50 pm

o sorry about that, and thank you, and what is a cuda core?
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby SPARTAN-001 » August 5th, 2010, 2:01 pm

A CUDA core is the processing unit inside Nvidia GPUs. Before CUDA cores, each task in rendering a frame onscreen had to be done with a different type of processor. This was inefficient, because certain processors were rarely used while others were used extensively. This was changed with the introduction of Nvidia's CUDA cores and ATI's Stream processors. Both of these serve the purpose of allowing individual processors in the GPU to be used for everything, rather than a specific task. It allows graphics cards to be used for more than just games.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 6th, 2010, 5:24 am

o ok thanks, i was wondriing about that cause every where on a graphics card it said cuda and i was lke ? thanks you
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 6th, 2010, 6:12 am

wait, wouldnt it be a beast rendering in octane render? becuase octane render usees cuda cores, so wouldnt that be benifited by this?
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby SPARTAN-001 » August 6th, 2010, 6:16 am

It probably would. Anything that uses CUDA for computation would be benefited, just not games.
//SPARTAN
Image
Practice makes perfect and nothing is perfect, so why practice? -brektzar
User avatar
SPARTAN-001
Legend
Legend
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: November 5th, 2008, 4:23 pm

Re: Possible? or not?

Postby themitchel0 » August 6th, 2010, 7:47 am

ok thanks
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am
Next
Return to Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron