blenderNetworkpatreonblender-logosdheartuserthtimesbookphotopencilmap-markerchevron-rightbancommentcommentstwitterfacebookrsschainnavicongoogle-plusenvelopelinkedinmail-replycalendar-otumblrredditstumbleuponshare-altbloggerflattrflag

populating a drop down list.

Re: populating a drop down list.

Postby djm » January 25th, 2011, 1:33 pm

Funny how this topic went from drop down tags to email and JavaScript :P

Anyway, you can't send/receive email by only using JavaScript. You need an email-server for this, or a regular server which supports email transferring, some PHP tags and a form made with HTML so you can input the information/email you want to send. A suppose you already know how to use forms and mailto commands so this shouldn't really be that much of a problem for you, unless you don't have a server that is :)
Regards, DJM aka Sheldin!

DeviantArt Profile
http://sheldiner.deviantart.com/

Youtube (Tutorials/Gaming)
http://www.youtube.com/SheldinLP
User avatar
djm
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 478
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 4:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: populating a drop down list.

Postby themitchel0 » January 25th, 2011, 1:50 pm

yes, i have a form, but no i dont have a email server, and i dont know commands, but even for this i need a mail server? thanks
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: populating a drop down list.

Postby djm » January 25th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Yes even for that you need a certain type of server which supports email-transferring. It's like when you want to use PHP on your website you need a server which supports Apache for example.

The mail commands are simple;
Code: Select all
<a href="mailto:email@example.com">Email me here!</a>


That's the link type of email command, which means; if someone clicks on this link they'll automatically open their email software (thunderbird, outlook etc.) and from there on it's done through the software. But if you want to make it more efficient of some sort I'd advice you to go with PHP for the mail-stuff since php has got *comparison, and HTML doesn't.

*Comparison = "if, then, else" - If email has been written down, then mail when user click on "send". Else send user back to previous page. // Only an example of a comparison (no code).

When you have your form and you want the user to write down his/her email, a message as well as a name/phonenumer/skype whatever, then just simply add a PHP check. (Which is done through a comparison). It will check if the user has entered a valid email (@something.something), if the user has entered a name and also if the user has written a message. I'd love to show you an example of how this would look like right now but this type of setting requires 2+ pages. One .html for the form/website and one .php for all the functions. And PHP functions are not a piece of cake if you've never used PHP before.
Regards, DJM aka Sheldin!

DeviantArt Profile
http://sheldiner.deviantart.com/

Youtube (Tutorials/Gaming)
http://www.youtube.com/SheldinLP
User avatar
djm
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 478
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 4:04 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: populating a drop down list.

Postby themitchel0 » January 25th, 2011, 5:37 pm

thanks djm, that cleared up alot :D
themitchel0
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 365
Joined: June 15th, 2010, 8:31 am

Re: populating a drop down list.

Postby djm » January 25th, 2011, 11:12 pm

Great! I'm glad I could help. :)
Regards, DJM aka Sheldin!

DeviantArt Profile
http://sheldiner.deviantart.com/

Youtube (Tutorials/Gaming)
http://www.youtube.com/SheldinLP
User avatar
djm
Pro
Pro
 
Posts: 478
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 4:04 pm
Location: Sweden
Previous
Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest